2022 STS Sustainability Awards

Mithat Çoruh (EB Building), May 10th, 2022. 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM

This event is inspired by Bilkent University’s 2021–2022 Sustainability Year and is hosted by the Faculty of Engineering. Science Technology and Society (STS) students contact innovators and ask questions related to the values that are considered in the innovation process. For the 2021/2022 academic year, students were asked to include sustainability as one of the key values. Three groups received awards as part of the 2022 STS Sustainability Awards competition.  Please also see the Bilkent News article on the event for details. 

Master of Ceremonies – Şahan Yoruç Selçuk, Electrical and Electronics Engineering student

Welcome – Prof. Nail Akar, Associate Dean, Faculty of Engineering

The Importance of Sustainability for Future EngineersDr. Zeynep Yöntem 

Dr. Yöntem  is the Chairman of the Board and Founder of Ekodenge. She has a total of 35 years national and international experience as an engineer and manager on environmental policy and integrated environmental management, including economic, scientific and legal aspects. She is a chemical engineer with a doctoral degree in Social and Environmental Science and was a Hacettepe University lecturer.

Outstanding STS Sustainability Award

Graphene Based Solar Cells in the context of Responsible Research and Innovation

  • Dilruba Sultan Haliloğlu
  • Kerem Fidan
  • İlknur Yılmaz
  • Kaan Keven
  • Ece Teker

Sustainability and Innovation Award

AirCar: A “Jetson” Dream Coming True

  • Arda İçöz
  • Ahmet Melih Gıcır
  • Zeynep Selcen Öztunç
  • Erdem Deniz Erdağ
  • Nurettin Onur Vural

Sustainability and Equity Award

Tangible Social Concerns in a Digitalized World: An RRI Case Study on Digital Transformation Technologies at TEKNOPAR

  • Aras Fırat Ünal
  • Batu Arda Düzgün
  • Mehmet Ufuk Özdemir
  • Şahan Yoruç Selçuk
  • Tolga Veske

Awards Ceremony – Presented by Prof. Nail Akar, Associate Dean, Faculty of Engineering

 Special Thanks:  The jury included Assoc. Prof. Didem Dizdaroglu (Urban Design and Landscape Architecture), Assoc. Prof. Selin Kocaman (Industrial Engineering), Assoc. Prof. Jennie Lane (Educational Sciences) and Prof. Haldun Ozaktas (Electrical and Electronics Engineering).

2022 STS Sustainability Awards Video – Part One 

2022 STS Sustainability Awards Video –  Part Two 

2022 STS Sustainability Awards Video – Part Three

Many thanks to  Prof. Dr. Ezhan Karaşan  (Dean, Faculty of Engineering), Başak BaydaşCüneyt Özgündoğdu and Armağan Gürsoy for their valuable contributions to this event. This event was organized by Robin Downey.